GovWhitePapers Logo

Sorry, your browser is not compatible with this application. Please use the latest version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge or Safari.

The “Quad”: Security Cooperation Among the United States, Japan, India, and Australia

  • Author(s):
  • Emma Chanlett-Avery
  • K. Alan Kronstadt
  • Bruce Vaughn

In October 2020, in the midst of a global pandemic, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and his three counterparts from Australia, India, and Japan convened an in-person meeting in Tokyo. The focus was on boosting the Quadrilateral Security Dialogue, aka “the Quad,” a four country coalition with a common platform of protecting freedom of navigation and promoting democratic values in the region. The gathering released no joint statement, but Pompeo stated that the purpose of the group was to “protect our people and partners from the Chinese Communist Party’s exploitation, corruption, and coercion.” Although the three other ministers framed the meeting differently in their opening statements, fears of China’s growing influence and assertiveness in the region loom large.

  • Share this:
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • White Paper
Website:Visit Publisher Website
Publisher:Congressional Research Service
Published:November 2, 2020
License:Public Domain

Featured Content

Contact Publisher

Claim Content